Durban’s Super Giants kickstart their SA20 2024 season with a clash against MI Cape Town at the Kingsmead on Thursday.

Having missed the playoffs by a whisker in the inaugural SA20 season last year, DSG will be eager to go all the way this time around and have strengthened their squad considerably to meet the goal.

Head coach Lance Klusener’s unit has been bolstered this season with the addition of Afghan duo Naveen Ul-Haq and Noor Ahmad. West Indies ace Nicholas Pooran and stylish South African batter Toni de Zorzi will join up with the 11 players who have been retained from last season.

Keshav Maharaj will captain DSG in the 2024 season. Experienced campaigners like Quinton de Kock, Reece Topley, Heinrich Klaasen and Dwaine Pretorius are also in the squad.

DSG fans can also look forward to some exciting local talents this season in Bryce Parsons and Jason Smith.

Durban’s Super Giants Squad for SA20 2024

Keshav Maharaj (captain), Dwaine Pretorius, Kyle Mayers, Matthew Breetzke, Prenelan Subrayen, Bryce Parsons (Rookie), Jason Smith, Nicholas Pooran (Wild Card), Quinton de Kock, Reece Topley, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dilshan Madushanka, Toni de Zorzi, Jon-Jon Smuts, Wiaan Mulder, Keemo Paul, Naveen Ul-Haq, Junior Dala, Noor Ahmad

MI Cape Town will be without last year’s captain Rashid Khan, who is currently recovering from an injury and is on tour with the Afghanistan national team in India. In the Afghan spinner’s absence, DSG’s opponents on Thursday will be captained by West Indian veteran Kieron Pollard.

Jofra Archer, Sam Curran and Liam Livingstone are some of the top international names in the roster while Rassie van der Dussen and Kagiso Rabada headline the domestic contingent for MI Cape Town.

Durban’s Super Giants vs MI Cape Town head-to-head record

DSG boast a perfect record against MI Cape Town, having beaten them both home and away last season. Quinton de Kock played the starring role in Kingsmead with a 41-ball 63 while it was Klaasen’s blitz that led DSG to a five-wicket victory at Newlands.